Alabama’s DeVonta Smith can turn out to be the fourth large receiver to win the Heisman Trophy in its 85 years and the primary since 1991.  

ESPN will announce the winner on the 86th Heisman Trophy Ceremony on Tuesday at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. Smith is one in every of 4 finalists together with three quarterbacks: Alabama’s Mac Jones, Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence and Florida’s Kyle Trask.  

Smith, who earned SN’s School Soccer Participant of the Yr Award, has 105 catches for 1,641 yards and 20 TDs heading into the School Soccer Playoff championship matchup towards No. three Ohio State on Jan. 11.  

Smith may be part of an unique group inside the fraternity because of this. Sporting Information seems to be at how receivers have fared profitable the Heisman Trophy.  

MORE: The case for and towards every 2020 Heisman candidate

(Getty Pictures)

Who’s the final large receiver to win the Heisman?  

Desmond Howard, Michigan (1991)

Howard had 62 catches for 985 yards and 19 TDs. He added 180 dashing yards and two TDs, and he totaled 684 return yards and two extra TDs between kicks and punts.  

Howard was greater than stats. He supplied two Heisman moments with a spectacular diving catch towards Notre Dame and a punt return towards Ohio State through which he struck the “Heisman pose.”  

What number of large receivers have received the Heisman Trophy?  

DeVonta Smith would turn out to be the fourth participant listed as a large receiver to win the Heisman Trophy, becoming a member of Desmond Howard (1991), Tim Brown (1987) and Johnny Rodgers (1972). 

Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska (1972)

Rodgers time between receiver and working again. Rodgers had 58 catches for 1,013 yards and 9 TDs. He added 73 carries for 348 yards and 10 TDs.  

Tim Brown, Notre Dame (1987)  

Brown had 39 catches for 846 yards and three TDs. He added 34 rushes for 144 yards and a TD. Like Howard, Brown was an electrical returner. He had 857 return yards between kicks and punts, and that included three punt returns for TDs.  

(Getty Pictures)

Who has come shut since 1991?  

Since 1991, 5 receivers have completed within the prime 4 within the Heisman Trophy voting. A have a look at these receivers:  

Randy Moss, Marshall (1997)  

Moss had 96 catches for 1,820 yards and 26 TDs and was a menace within the return sport. He completed fourth in a Heisman class that featured Charles Woodson, Peyton Manning and Ryan Leaf.  

Larry Fitzgerald, Pitt (2003)  

Fitzgerald completed second within the voting in 2003. Fitzgerald had 92 catches for 1,672 yards and 22 TDs. Oklahoma’s Jason White beat out Fitzgerald for the Heisman.  

Marqise Lee, USC (2012) 

Lee completed with 118 catches for 1,721 yards and 14 TDs as a junior in 2012. He completed fourth within the voting behind Johnny Manziel, Manti Te’o and Collin Klein.  

Amari Cooper, Alabama (2014)  

Cooper completed third within the voting with a record-setting season for the Crimson Tide. He completed with 124 catches for 1,727 yards and 16 TDs. He completed behind Marcus Mariota and Melvin Gordon within the voting.  

Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma (2016)  

Westbrook had 80 catches for 1,524 yards for 17 TDs. He added 325 return yards and a TD together with 101 dashing yards. Westbrook completed fourth behind Lamar Jackson, Deshaun Watson and Sooners teammate Baker Mayfield.  

What’s DeVonta Smith’s Heisman second?  

Smith did not strike the Heisman pose after a punt return for a landing towards Arkansas on Dec. 12, however he backed his case within the Crimson Tide’s final two video games.  

Within the SEC championship sport victory towards Florida and the CFP semifinal victory (after the voting) towards Notre Dame, Smith totaled 22 receptions for 314 yards and 5 TDs.  

He’s the favourite to win the Heisman. Smith was requested what that will imply to signify all receivers and win the award in a press convention Monday.  

“The person who goes out and simply places within the work, they are going to get the issues that they deserve,” he stated. “So in the event you work for issues you are going to get the issues that you simply deserve.”