The Clark County Fee swore in 4 members on Monday, together with one whose race was so shut his opponent is disputing the leads to the Nevada Supreme Courtroom.

The swearing-in ceremony was held open air on the Clark County Authorities Middle amphitheater in downtown Las Vegas. Nevada Supreme Courtroom Justice Abbi Silver swore in Marilyn Kirkpatrick, Ross Miller and Michael Naft, and newly elected North Las Vegas Justice of Peace Belinda Harris swore in William McCurdy II. 

Miller’s oath of workplace comes after a slender victory in opposition to his Republican opponent, Las Vegas Metropolis Councilman Stavros Anthony. In November, Miller was within the lead by 10 votes out of greater than 153,000 solid. Anthony filed for a recount that led to election officers together with 74 extra ballots that widened Miller’s margin of victory to 15 votes. 

The fee voted to certify the recount’s outcomes on Dec. 15. Anthony’s lawsuit for a brand new Clark County Fee election was rejected by a decide on Christmas Eve, however Anthony filed a discover on Monday with the Nevada Supreme Courtroom to attraction the District Courtroom’s determination denying his request.

“I’m going to Nevada Supreme Courtroom for residents of Clark County Fee District C, the place the Register of Voters has referred to as into query whether or not the election outcomes mirror the true will of the voters. Unfold 10, 30, 15 votes. 139 irreconcilable discrepancies and errors,” he tweeted on Dec. 30. 

In November, Clark County Registrar of Voters Joe Gloria reported to the fee there have been 139 poll discrepancies in District C. Though this halted the fee’s preliminary vote to certify the election outcomes, Gloria defined on the Dec. 1 assembly that such discrepancies embrace situations when the variety of the people who checked in on the polling location doesn’t match the variety of ballots solid, and that it occurs each election. 

McCurdy, of District D, replaces Lawrence Weekly, who was termed out. Miller, of District C, replaces Larry Brown, who additionally was termed out. 

Kirkpatrick has been a District B consultant since 2015, and Naft, of District A, was first appointed by Gov. Steve Sisolak in 2019. Fee phrases are 4 years.

Stavros Anthony discover of attraction by Jannelle Calderon on Scribd