The 2020 Heisman Trophy winner was introduced Tuesday night time on ESPN in a ceremony that took place six days earlier than the School Soccer Playoff title recreation.

Alabama large receiver DeVonta Smith gained the consideration with 447 first-place votes — greater than double the second-place finisher. It is a common season award, however followers will nonetheless get to see Smith competing within the CFP championship; he’ll go up in opposition to Ohio State subsequent Monday in his ultimate faculty look.

The opposite finalists have been Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence, Alabama’s Mac Jones and Florida’s Kyle Trask. Lawrence completed forward of Jones for second place, which stunned many observers who believed Jones was the one risk to Smith on the prime of the record.

MORE: Historical past of WRs successful the Heisman

Beforehand, the No. 5 by means of No. 10 vote-getters for the Heisman Trophy have been unveiled. So as from most to least votes obtained, these honorees have been Najee Harris, Breece Corridor, Justin Fields, Zach Wilson, Ian Guide and Kyle Pitts. Fields, the quarterback for Ohio State, will oppose Smith within the CFP championship.

Under is a breakdown of the 2020 Heisman Trophy ceremony in addition to the winners of faculty soccer’s different prime awards.

Who gained the Heisman Trophy in 2020?

Alabama large receiver DeVonta Smith gained the 2020 Heisman Trophy after his 105-reception, 1,641-yard season. He is the primary move catcher to win the Heisman since Desmond Howard did it in 1991.

Smith, a senior, is a projected first-round choose within the 2021 NFL Draft. He’ll depart the Tide having secured a minimum of 43 landing catches — the CFP championship recreation presents a ultimate alternative so as to add to his tally.

Together with quarterback Mac Jones and working again Najee Harris, Smith accomplished a trio of Alabama gamers within the prime 5 of Heisman voting this season

Heisman voting outcomes 2020

End Participant Pos. Faculty Complete factors 1st 2nd third
1. DeVonta Smith WR Alabama 1,856 447 221 73
2. Trevor Lawrence QB Clemson 1,187 222 176 169
3. Mac Jones QB Alabama 1,130 138  248 220
4. Kyle Trask QB Florida 737 61 164 226

Heisman Trophy voting consists of 870 media members, 56 residing Heisman winners and one vote from the followers.

School soccer award winners 2020

Finalists are listed beneath and can be up to date as soon as the winner is known as.

  • Heisman Trophy (excellent participant of the 12 months):  DeVonta Smith (Alabama)
  • Maxwell Award (participant of the 12 months): Mac Jones, DeVonta Smith, Trevor Lawrence
  • Davey O’Brien Award (greatest QB): Mac Jones (Alabama)
  • Doak Walker Award (greatest RB): Najee Harris, Breece Corridor, Travis Etienne
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award (greatest WR): DeVonta Smith (Alabama)
  • John Mackey Award (greatest TE): Kyle Pitts, Charlie Kolar, Jalen Wydermyer
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (greatest defensive participant): Zaven Collins (Tulsa)
  • Butkus Award (greatest linebacker): Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah (Notre Dame)
  • Jim Thorpe Award (greatest defensive again): Richie Grant, Trevon Moehrig, Patrick Surtain II
  • Rimington Trophy (greatest middle): Landon Dickerson, Tyler Linderbaum, Josh Myers
  • Outland Trophy (greatest inside offensive lineman): Alex Leatherwood (Alabama), Daviyon Nixon
  • Lou Groza Award (greatest kicker): Jose Borregales, Jake Oldroyd, Will Reichard
  • Ray Man Award (greatest punter): Pressley Harvin III (Georgia Tech)